Stylized texturing in Substance Designer

Hey there is some new update belongs to my personal education. Current I am playing a lot with substance designer. and this tool is damn powerful. Substance is really fast in creating realistic Textures and nearly everyone, mostly Concept and traditional Texture artists told me that substance is only for realistic game textures and not for hand painted looking games. … Ok Challenge accepted! 10 Hours Later! I got a result.. I still need to tweak the math and the blending logic but for 10 hours’ work.  I call it ok.. I had to builtup everything from scratch with my own Generators and colouring logic.

The initial idea for this substance was a bet with one of our Artists, Bastian Brem at Chimera Entertainment .

the bet was that I can create a stylized texture in his style in substance spending less time.

Breakdown Video

2 thoughts on “Stylized texturing in Substance Designer

Leave a Reply

